ICOM-US Board of Directors

ICOM-US is governed by a Board of Directors elected by the committee membership. The list that follows is current as of July 31, 2023.

Co-Chairs 2023-2026



Arthur Affleck
Executive Director
Association of Children's Museums
Arlington, VA

Kate Quinn
Executive Director
Mütter Museum and Historical Medical Library
Philadelphia, PA

Immediate Past Co-Chairs


Lonnie G. Bunch, III
Smithsonian Institution
Washington, DC




Douglass W. McDonald
Retired CEO
The Alamo, Cincinnati Museum Center & National Underground Railroad Freedom Center
Cincinnati, OH



Secretary (Interim)


Joanne Sofía Flores
Senior Program Officer for Art
Smithsonian Institution
Washington, DC



Board of Directors

Bridget C. Coughlin, Ph.D.
President and CEO
Shedd Aquarium
Chicago, IL

Scott Cooper, Ph.D.
President and CEO
The Academy of Natural Sciences of Drexel University
Philadelphia, PA

Jason Cryan
Executive Director
Natural History Museum of Utah
Salt Lake City, UT

Dr. George Jacob
President & CEO
BayEcotarium/ Aquarium of the Bay
San Francisco, CA

Lyndel King
Emeritus, Director & Chief Curator
Weisman Art Museum
Minneapolis, MN

Lisa Kim
Gallery Director
Ford Foundation
New York, NY

Deborah Mack
Director, Smithsonian’s national initiative: Our Shared Future: Reckoning with our Racial Past
Associate Director for Strategic Partnerships, National Museum of African American History and Culture
Washington, DC


Leslee Katrina Michelsen
Curator of Collections and Exhibitions
Shangri La Museum of Islamic Art, Culture & Design
(Doris Duke Foundation)
Washington D.C

Patsy Phillips
IAIA Museum of Contemporary Native Arts (MoCNA)
Santa Fe, NM

Monica Ramirez-Montagut PhD.
Executive Director
The Parrish Art Museum
Water Mill, NY

Julian Siggers, Ph.D. 
President and CEO
Field Museum of Natural History
Chicago, IL

Bonnie W. Styles
Executive Director
Association of Science Museum Directors
Springfield, IL

Technical Advisors to the Board (Appointed by co-chairs, non-voting)

W. Richard West, Jr.
President & CEO Emeritus, Autry National Center of the American West; Founding Director & Director Emereti,             National Museum of the American Indian Smithsonian Institution

Los Angeles, CA


Members Ex-Officio (according to ICOM-US bylaws)

Jane E. Klinger

Special Advisor and Senior Research Conservator, U S Holocaust Memorial Museum, Washington D.C.

Christina Linsenmeyer

Associate Curator, Morris Steinert Collection of Musical Instruments, Yale University, New Haven, CT

Diana Pardue
Chair, DRMC

Director, Museum Services Division
Statue of Liberty & Ellis Island
Immigration Museum
Liberty Island
New York, NY 

Glenn Perkins
Chair, CAMOC
Curator of Community History, Greensboro History Museum, Greensboro, NC

Hillary Spencer

Chair, ICEE

Founder, Agency, Rockville, MD

Sally Yerkovich
Professor, Museum Anthropology, Columbia University
Director of Educational Exchange and Special Projects at The American-Scandinavian Foundation

Deborah Ziska
Chair, MPR
Consultant, Washington, DC



 ICOM-US Timeline

2021: ICOM-US Inaugural Publication (in collaboration with webinar series)

2020: ICOM-US Virtual Annual Meeting and Inaugural Webinar Series

2019: ICOM-US Restricted Fund created to support ICOM committee to host meetings/conferences in the U.S.

2017: ICOM-US Strategic Vision and Work Plan Finalized 

2016: ICOM-US and AAM signed a Memorandum of Understanding, leading to future collaborations.

2015: ICOM-US Bid to host the 2019 ICOM General Conference in Cincinnati, OH

2014: ICOM-US finalized new bylaws and was approved as a 501c3 (U.S. nonprofit) organization. 

2012: ICOM-US hired Hauck & Associates, Inc., with offices in Washington, DC, to administer ICOM-US affairs.

2011: ICOM-US became independent from the American Alliance of Museum (AAM), which had been managing ICOM-US.