**Nomination Period for 2021 is closed**

ICOM-US accepts nominations to join its Board of Directors (nominations can be for yourself or on behalf of another colleague), and elects a new class at their annual meeting in the Spring. ICOM-US welcomes the nomination of individuals from all backgrounds, however, you must be an ICOM-US member to be eligible.  Learn more about submission procedures on the board matrix form.

Please send any questions to Molly Shevlin, ICOM-US Executive Director at [email protected].

*Note that the committee is taking a long view of shaping the board, so nominations received this year may be considered in future years.

ICOM-US: Board of Directors

ICOM-US is governed by a Board of Directors elected by the committee membership. The list that follows is current as of the annual election held in November 2020.

Co-Chairs 2020-2023

Lonnie G. Bunch, III
Smithsonian Institution
P.O. Box 37012, MRC 016
Washington, DC 20013
Phone: 202-633-1846

Thomas J. Loughman, Ph.D.
Former, Director and CEO (transition March 2021)
Wadsworth Atheneum Museum of Art
600 Main Street
Hartford, CT 06103
(860) 838-4169

Immediate Past Co-Chairs

Elizabeth Duggal
Deputy Director and Chief Operating Officer Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum and Foundation
1071 Fifth Avenue
New York, NY 10128
(212) 423-3688

Kathy Dwyer Southern
Professor, Museum Studies Program
George Washington University
McLean, Virginia 22101
(703) 402-1800 


William U. Eiland
Georgia Museum of Art
90 Carlton Street
Athens, GA 30602-6719
(706) 542-0441

Secretary (ex-officio)

Molly Shevlin
Executive Director
4301 50th St NW
Suite 300 PMB 1042
Washington, DC 20016
(202) 452-1200

Membership Contact: Morgan Denault,
[email protected]


Board of Directors

Amy Bornkamp 
Director of Sales and Booking
IMG Exhibitions
Address: 121 W. Wacker Drive, Suite #2100
Chicago, IL 60601
Phone: 773.844.7563

Teng Chamchumrus
Executive Officer
Office of the Under Secretary for Education, Smithsonian Institution
PO Box 37012, MRC 051
Washington, DC 20013-7012

Jason Cryan
Executive Director
Natural History Museum of Utah
301 Wakara Way
Salt Lake City, UT 84108

Joanne Sofía Flores
Senior Program Officer for Art
Smithsonian Institution
PO Box 37012
MRC 040
Washington, DC 20013-7012

Alice M. Greenwald
President & CEO
National September 11 Memorial & Museum
200 Liberty Street, 16th Floor,
New York, NY 10281

George Jacob
President & CEO
Embarcadero at Beach Street, Aquarium of the Bay
c/o Pier 39, San Francisco, CA 94133

Lyndel King
Retired, Director & Chief Curator
Weisman Art Museum
333 E. River Pkwy
Minneapolis, MN 55455

Cameron Kitchin
Louis and Louise Dieterle Nippert Director
Cincinnati Art Museum
Eden Park
953 Eden Park Drive
Cincinnati, OH 45202
(513) 639-2901  


Deborah Mack
Interim Director
National Museum of African Art, Smithsonian Institution
950 Independence Ave SW, MSC 708
Washington DC, 20056

Leslee Katrina Michelsen
Curator of Collections and Exhibitions
Shangri La Museum of Islamic Art, Culture & Design
(Doris Duke Foundation for Islamic Art)
4055 Pāpū Circle,
Honolulu, HI 96816

Alejandra Peña
Executive Director
Museo de Arte de Ponce
PO Box 9027
Ponce, PR 00732-9027
(787) 840-1510

Patsy Phillips
IAIA Museum of Contemporary Native Arts (MoCNA)
108 Cathedral Place,
Santa Fe, NM 87501

Kate Quinn
Executive Director
James A. Michener Art Museum
138 S. Pine Street
Doylestown, PA 18901
215.340.9800 x 104

Monica Ramirez-Montagut
Executive Director
Eli and Edythe Broad Art Museum at Michigan State University
547 E Circle Drive
East Lansing, MI 48824

Daniel Ronan
Owner and Principal
Resilient Heritage
Chicago, IL 60640
(503) 449-2155

Julian Siggers
President and CEO
Field Museum of Natural History
1400 South Lake Shore Drive
Chicago, IL 60605

Bonnie W. Styles
Executive Director
Association of Science Museum Directors
2413 S. Whittier Ave.,
Springfield, IL 62704

Elizabeth Varner
Adjunct Professor; ADR Neutral 
Indiana University Robert H. McKinney School of Law
Washington, DC
(202) 302-1036

Members Ex-Officio (according to ICOM-US bylaws)

Diana Pardue (Chair, DRMC)
Director, Museum Services Division
Statue of Liberty & Ellis Island
Immigration Museum
Liberty Island
New York, NY 10004
(917) 846.2597

Dr. Eric Dorfman (ICOM Executive Board)
Director & CEO, North Carolina Museum of Natural Sciences
11 West Jones Street
Raleigh, NC 27601
Phone: +1 919-707-9804

Antonio Rodriguez (Chair, International Committee for Exhibitions and Exchange- ICEE)
Museum Consultant
Potomac, MD 20854
(240) 401-5075

Ute Wartenberg (chair, international committee for Money and Banking Museums- ICOMON)
Executive Director
American Numismatic Society
75 Varick Street, Floor 2
New York, NY 10013

Technical Advisors to the Board (appointed by the co-chairs)

Douglass W. McDonald
Retired, President and Chief Executive Officer
Cincinnati Museum Center and The National Underground Railroad Freedom Center
Cincinnati, OH 45244
(513) 708-2000

Sally Yerkovich, (ETHICS)
Professor, Museum Anthropology, Columbia University
Director of Educational Exchange and Special Projects at The American-Scandinavian Foundation
Tel: 917-543-1750

ICOM-US Timeline:

2011: ICOM-US became independent from the American Alliance of Museum (AAM), which had been managing ICOM-US.

2012: ICOM-US hired Hauck & Associates, Inc., with offices in Washington, DC, to administer ICOM-US affairs.

2014: ICOM-US finalized new bylaws and was approved as a 501c3 (U.S. nonprofit) organization.

2015: ICOM-US Bid to host the 2019 ICOM General Conference in Cincinnati, OH

2016: ICOM-US and AAM signed a Memorandum of Understanding, leading to future collaborations. 

2017: ICOM-US Strategic Vision and Work Plan Finalized 

2019: ICOM-US Restricted Fund created to support ICOM committee to host meetings/conferences in the U.S.

2020: ICOM-US Virtual Annual Meeting and Inaugural Webinar Series


4301 50th Street NW

Suite 300 PMB 1042

Washington, DC 20016