ICOM-US: Board of Directors

ICOM-US is governed by a Board of Directors elected by the committee membership. The list that follows is current as of the annual election held in May 2017.

Co-Chairs 2017-2020

Lonnie G. Bunch, III
Founding Director
National Museum of African American
History and Culture,
Smithsonian Institution
PO Box 37012, MRC 509
Washington, DC 20013-7012
(202) 633-4751
bunchl@si.edu

Thomas J. Loughman, Ph.D.
Director and CEO
Wadsworth Atheneum Museum of Art
600 Main Street
Hartford, CT 06103
(860) 614-0952
Tom.loughman@wadsworthatheneum.org
Jennifer.bordiere@wadsworthatheneum.org

Immediate Past Co-Chairs

Elizabeth Duggal
Deputy Director
Hirshhorn Museum & Sculpture Garden, Smithsonian Institution
Independence Ave at Seventh Street SW
MRC 350, PO Box 37012
Washington, DC 20013-7012
(202) 633-2780
duggale@si.edu

Kathy Dwyer Southern
Professor, Museum Studies Program
George Washington University
McLean, Virginia 22101
(703) 402-1800 
Kathy.dwyer.southern@gmail.com

Treasurer

Jose A. Ortiz
Chief Operating Officer
MoMA PS1
22-25 Jackson Avenue
Long Island City, NY 11101
(718) 786-7040
Jose_ortiz@moma.org

Secretary (ex-officio)

Molly Shevlin
Administrative/Membership Coordinator
ICOM-US
1000 Potomac Street NW
Suite 108
Washington, DC 20007
(202) 452-1200
icomus@icom.museum
mshevlin@hauck.com

Board of Directors

Ruth Berson
Deputy Museum Director, Curatorial Affairs
San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
151 Third Street
San Francisco, CA 94103
(415) 948-1328
rberson@sfmoma.org

Amy Bornkamp
Sr. Manager of Exhibition
Planning & Partnership
The Field Museum
1400 S. Lake Shore Drive
Chicago, IL 60605
(312) 665-7404
abornkamp@fieldmuseum.org

Virginia M Curry
Doctoral Candidate Interdisciplinary Studies,
Art History/Independent Research Scholar
University of Texas
Flower Mound, TX 75022
(817) 881-6113
Virginiamcurry@gmail.com

David J. de la Torre
Museum Consultant
San Francisco, CA 94115
(415) 202-9700
ddelatorre888@gmail.com

Martin Earring
Special Assistant
National Museum of the American Indian, Smithsonian Institution
4th St. and Independence Ave., SW,
PO Box 37012, MRC 590
Washington, DC, 20013-7012
(202) 633-6904
earringm@si.edu

William U. Eiland
Director
Georgia Museum of Art
90 Carlton Street
Athens, GA 30602-6719
(706) 542-0441
weiland@uga.edu

Jay Finney
Chief Marketing Officer
The Peabody Essex Museum
East India Square (161 Essex St)
Salem, Massachusetts 01970
(978) 745-9500
Jay_finney@pem.org

Cameron Kitchin
Louis and Louise Dieterle Nippert Director
Cincinnati Art Museum
Eden Park
953 Eden Park Drive
Cincinnati, OH 45202
www.cincinnatiartmuseum.org
(513) 639-2901
cameron.kitchin@cincyart.org

Juanita Moore 
President/CEO
Charles H. Wright Museum of
African American History
315 East Warren Avenue
Detroit, MI 48201
jmoore@chwmuseum.org

 

Kate Quinn
Director of Exhibitions and Public Programs
University of Pennsylvania Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology (Penn Museum)
3260 South Street 
Philadelphia, PA 19106
(215) 898-4019
quik@upenn.edu

Daniel Ronan
Owner, Consultant
Reailient Heritage
Chicago, IL 60640
(503) 449-2155
dronan@resilientheritage.org

Corine Wegener
Cultural Heritage Preservation Officer
Smithsonian Cultural Rescue Initiative
Office of the Under Secretary for
History, Art, and Culture
Smithsonian Institution
S. Dillon Ripley Center, Rm 3148
1100 Jefferson Drive, S.W.
MRC 714 PO Box 37012
(202) 633-5003
wegenerc@si.edu

W. Richard West, Jr.
President and Chief Executive Officer
Autry National Center of the American West
4700 Western Heritage Way
Los Angeles, CA 90027
(323) 667-2000 ext. 302
rwest@theautry.org

Dr. John Wetenhall
Director
The George Washington University
Museum & The Textile Museum
2320 S Street NW
Washington, DC 20008
(202) 667-0441 ext. 24
jwetenhall@textilemuseum.org

Jay Jie Xu
Executive Director and CEO
Asian Art Museum of San Francisco
and Chong-moon Lee Center for
Asian Art and Culture
200 Larkin Street
San Francisco, CA94102
(415) 581-3750
jxu@asianart.org

Deborah Ziska
Principal/Owner
Ziska: Communications & Collaborations, LLC
Adjunct Professor
Johns Hopkins University, Master of Arts in Museum Studies Program
Washington, DC 20001
deborah@ziskacomm.com

Members Ex-Officio (according to ICOM-US bylaws)

Diana Pardue (ICOM Executive Council)
Director, Museum Services Division
Statue of Liberty & Ellis Island
Immigration Museum
Liberty Island
New York, NY 10004
(917) 846.2597
diana_pardue@nps.gov

Meghan Curran (Chair, International Committee for Marketing and Public Relations- MPR)
SVP Marketing, Guest Experiences and Sales, Shedd Aquarium
1200 S. Lake Shore Drive
Chicago, IL 60605
(312) 692-3195
Mcurran@sheddaquarium.org

Dr. Eric Dorfman (Chair, International Committee for Museums and Collections of Natural History- NATHIST)
Director, Carnegie Museum of Natural History
4400 Forbes Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15213
(412) 622-3280
dorfmane@carnegiemnh.org

Jean Druesedow (Chair, International Committee for Collections of Costume- COSTUME)
Director, Kent State University Museum
PO Box 5190
Kent, OH 44242-0001
(330) 672-3450
jdruesed@kent.edu

Antonio Rodriguez (Chair, International Committee for Exhibitions and Exchange- ICEE)
Museum Consultant
Potomac, MD 20854
(240) 401-5075
antoniorodriguezusa@gmail.com

Technical Advisors to the Board (appointed by the co-chairs)

Douglass W. McDonald
Retired, President and Chief Executive Officer
Cincinnati Museum Center and The National Underground Railroad Freedom Center
Cincinnati, OH 45244
(513) 708-2000
doug@NGOgro.com

Sally Yerkovich, (ETHICS)
Director, Institute of Museum Ethics
Seton Hall University
250 South End Avenue, Apt. 9D
New York, NY 10280
(917) 543-1750
sallyyerkovich@gmail.com

 

ICOM-US Timeline:

2011: ICOM-US became independent from the American Alliance of Museum (AAM), which had been managing ICOM-US.

2012: ICOM-US hired Hauck & Associates, Inc., with offices in Washington, DC, to administer ICOM-US affairs.

2014: ICOM-US finalized new bylaws and was approved as a 501c3 (U.S. nonprofit) organization.

2016: ICOM-US and AAM signed a Memorandum of Understanding, leading to future collaborations.